Monuments and Memorial Sights of Prachatice
Streets of historical centre
A few steps further and we find ourselves in front of the church. Across from the church stands the burgher house No. 34. Notice the Baroque picture of the coronation of the Virgin Mary between the windows on the first storey as well as the date 1649, marking when it was painted, while the picture was discovered only recently. To continue our tour of the historical Old Town, we now turn right onto Křišťanova Ulice.
At the next Renaissance house with tapered block sgraffito on the facade, we turn left onto Věžní Ulice. This leads us to the place where it crosses with Husova Ulice, where the massive corner house No. 71 stands, called Husův (Huss‘ House). It is said that Jan Hus lived in this house during his studies at the Prachatice school. The house is originally Gothic, and the present Renaissance appearance with its unique rustic sgraffito is the result of a late 16th century reconstruction. The Baroque peripheral attic gable is also interesting. The Municipal Library has been located in the interiors, rich in many unique types of vaulting, since 1966.
Moving along Husova Ulice, we return to Křišťanova Ulice. Here we notice building No. 63 which used to house a private brewery and the “Hostinec U Nebe” (Heaven‘s Inn) in the 16th century. The rough-hewn stone portal from Prachatice diorite dated 1581 is interesting, as is the marking MAP (burgher Mathes Pecovský) and the Rožmberk five-petalled rose. From Křišťanova Ulice we turn right onto Poštovní Ulice.
Our attention is automatically drawn to several buildings on Poštovní Ulice: house No. 114, originally Gothic and extensively reconstructed in the 16th century Renaissance, later modified into Baroque style, then into Classicist style at the end of the 19th century. The niche in the wall is decorated by a statue of St. Florian from the Prachatice woodcarver Dana Nachlingerová. St. Florian, the patron saint of firefighters, reminds us of Prachatice‘s two greatest fires in 1507 and 1832. The next house, No. 115, once the Hostinec U Modré Hvězdy (Blue Star Inn) was recently reconstructed to its original classicist appearance from the beginning of the 20th century. House No. 178, with its many vaults, evidently used to be the malthouse for the municipal brewery and now holds the Lace Museum. The museum‘s unique exhibition presents the history of Czech and European bobbin-lace needlework.
The next beautiful Renaissance houses (numbers 134, 135, 136, 137 and 138) are found on Horní Ulice. This leads us to the Monastery of the Sisters of St. Charles Borromeus (No. 142). Originally this was a burgher Renaissance house in which Jan Nepomuk Neumann was born in 1811, as noted by the memorial plaque on the wall. The house was transformed into a monastery after the death of Neumann‘s parents in 1861. The former gardens next to the monastery presently serve as a park. This area, nearby the hospice, was given a new spiritual dimension in 2007 with the saintly statue.
Now we can continue back along Neumannova Ulice to the Lower Gate. Along the way, notice the other burgher residences – house No. 161, the tapered block sgraffito decorations on house No. 147, and house No. 148 with its wall murals.
We turn right after the inner gate and pass along to the town park known as Parkán. This is located between the original fortification walls that surround the Old Town on one side and the outer Renaissance fortification walls on the other.
From the park, there is a nice view onto the presbytery church of St. Jacob and building No. 30 which housed the Municipal School from the 16th to 19th centuries. This is a Late Gothic house built into the fortification walls. There is a buttress extending from the house layout into Parkán, added in 1557 when the house was reconstructed in the Renaissance. It is decorated by tapered block sgraffito and rests on three pillars, terminating with two arcades. The merlons are a striking architectural element of the schoolhouse.
If we continue along Parkán, we come to the bastion known as Helvít, the best preserved of the former seven defence towers. These were built along the town perimeters in the locations where the fortification wall changed direction. The clever embrasure system in the wall allowed the town‘s defenders to safely fire upon invaders in front the fortification walls at close range.
Weather forecast from Yr, delivered by the Norwegian Meteorological Institute and the NRK